No Time To Write?

The following post comes from Kate, the 4AM writer at limebird, and she explains why she writes that early.

Brace yourselves. I’m about to jump onto my soapbox here.

I’m friends with a writer who dared to compare her busy life to mine. She recently went on a tear about how it’s obvious I am not as busy as she is because I write daily.

She made things worse for herself by saying that she doesn’t have time to write because she has a job. I was about to remind her that I have kids (as well as freelance jobs), she interrupted me and said, “but kids don’t require attention all the time, unlike my job.” Plus, she added…”You blog! You tweet! You’re on FB and LinkedIn!”

I decided arguing with such inflammatory comments wasn’t worth it. (So I’ll blog about it instead! Haha.)

The fact is, a busy life is relative. We are as busy as we think we are. No one is busier than anyone else, and to wallow in self-pity over how busy you are is only wasting more of the time you say you don’t have.

Now, granted, I don’t know every single person’s situation, so I might be stirring up a hornet’s nest by continuing with this.

Oh well. I’m stirring anyway.

I recently posted on my personal blog about my friend, Kady. (Kady is embarking on a personal challenge of NaNoWriMo next month. She is the perfect example of no such thing as no time to write.)

Finding time to write first takes dedication. You have to want to write. You have to want to write more than anything else.  More than anything else.

Click here to finish reading Kate’s post.

2 thoughts on “No Time To Write?

Leave a Reply

