Questions For You

Have you heard about the latest forecast of judgment day?

I have to admit that I was not aware that the world was about to end this weekend until I got a pamphlet pushed into my hand.  I left it on the counter, feeling offended that the woman didn’t even say anything.  I hope she wasn’t trying to convert me to something.  It was such a hollow affair.

Then, I heard on the radio that there were signs and billboards noting the same warning.  I heard–and I don’t know this to be true because it doesn’t exactly matter to me–that a person spent his entire savings after being convicted by the upcoming event of judgment day.

I’m intrigued just a little.  Only a little.  I never pay much attention to things like this.  I can just barely articulate with some minimal accuracy the various strands of systematic theology dealing with eschatology, the study of last things, also known as the Christian hope.  I can, at least, spell a-, pre-, and post-millennialism.  I think most of my brain matter, and there isn’t much, needs to be spent looking at the work to be done now rather than focusing on the last times.

I could write many words about this, but I’m interested in what you have to say.  That is, of course, if we’re all still around after I’ve scheduled this post to publish.

Here are a few questions, any of which you can comment on, if you like.

  • How do you react to things like this?
  • What have you read from the Scriptures about judgment?
  • What do moments like these communicate to people about faith?
  • How have you heard people responding to this latest announcement?
  • Where or how do you think conclusions like these come from?
  • Does this make faith attractive, and I presume it’s the Christian faith from the brochure handed me at Union Station?

Any thoughts?

One thought on “Questions For You

  1. •How do you react to things like this?

    I chuckle and shake my head.

    •What have you read from the Scriptures about judgment?

    What I think of is what Jesus said about judgment. He was pretty clear that those who profess faith without helping anyone or sharing their treasure will not be known to him.

    •What do moments like these communicate to people about faith?

    That the end of the journey is more important than the journey itself, which is damaging to believers and non-believers alike.

    •How have you heard people responding to this latest announcement?

    99% mockery, 1% uncomfortability that it might be true.

    •Where or how do you think conclusions like these come from?

    Too much focus on ‘the end of the world’, not enough on the world itself. A belief that God primarily wants to destroy the world instead of renew it.

    •Does this make faith attractive, and I presume it’s the Christian faith from the brochure handed me at Union Station?

    No!

Leave a Reply

