A Question I Want You To Answer

I realize asking a question to people who read my blog can be presumptuous.  I realize that I could be setting myself up for massive laughs.  That I might have to monitor the comments a bit quicker.  That I might look at that squiggly line on my wordpress dashboard and see no movement all day.  But I’ll take the risk to pose a question. 

When I started blogging, a trusted friend (I won’t tell you it was David Swanson) told me to write “what you’re interested in, what you’d like to think about, what you’re passionate about.”  I took that good advice.  For now, David Swanson gets credit for it.  Soon, he may not.  So, I’ve been writing my interests, and I’ll consistently prepare posts that fall within the basic categories of faith, writing, and relationships. 

I’m not dry or blocked.  Things come up that I want to write about.  Still, I’m one of those communicators who appreciates dialogue.  I come from a tradition where the audience talks back.  Where the people listening participate in what’s being said.

So I have a question for you.  Since you’ve read a post or two.  Hopefully. 

What would you like me to post about?  If you were to think about topics under this three-part umbrella, what would you like me to think about?  Are there specific ways you think I can strengthen my blog, which for me connects with doing one good thing I enjoy (i.e., writing), particularly as it relates to these areas–faith, writing, and relationships? 

This is a question I want you to answer.  So leave me a comment.  Now.  Or think about it, come back and leave one.  And I’ll thank you now for your gracious replies.  And I’ll say this, too: if you see something that you think I should read or have, leave a comment about it or post the link.

5 thoughts on “A Question I Want You To Answer

  1. OK, I admit, I’m not a frequent reader (at least not yet), I came here through random search, but I liked the layout and headers of your blog. I don’t know you, but well.. I can tell you what I like to read about. Do you think having a “life on the side” (e.g. virtual life – through blogging, or any form of expression on the internet) is a way of escaping from reality? And if so, do you think it is good or bad for us?
    I wonder about this myself… but I don’t know, I just have some thoughts about it..

  2. I’m not laughing. I like that you’re asking. A few “Now.” thoughts. If I have more I’ll come back later:
    * You’re a fiction writer. How involved do you get with your characters? How well do you get to know them as you write their stories? As a writer, are you more inclined to focus on characters than plot, or are they inseparable?

    * You ask questions that make me think. Maybe a few posts that simply ask a series of questions on the same topic and ask people to respond. (Which would generate the interaction you’re looking for.)

    * I really like your “series” of posts on Better Decisions. So possibly picking a topic (seems to work with relational or possibly faith-related topics, as they can be complex) and developing a series on it that explores different aspects of a concept or topic.

  3. You mentioned Aikido. I practice for almost a year. Haven’t had the time recently to get back into it. I’d like to hear a little more about how martial arts intersects with other areas of your life, like…I don’t know…maybe faith, writing, and relationships.

  4. Michael – I enjoy reading your blog, even I tend to be 1-2 weeks behind! I would like to hear more about you being a husband and a father, if you’re comfortable sharing about that part of your life. Andrew

Leave a Reply

