What are you reading?

I’m reading through four books:

Let’s Stay Together by Johnathan and Toni Alvarado is a solid and practical volume that collects biblically-informed counsel for couples (particularly when one or both spouses are leaders).  Having served as church starters, they offer gifts in this book from their pastoral perspectives, and you hear clearly the good wisdom they share with the members of Total Grace in Georiga and with other leaders throughout the world.  Bishop Alvarado has mentored me for more than half my life, and I am thankful that he and Pastor Toni have given the world this important book.

Godric by Frederick Buechner is a story that stretches me.  I can’t tell you what’s about yet since I’m in the early pages and since it’s a very different type of fiction for me.  I love Buechner’s non-fiction, which is why I’m branching out a bit, feeling a little clueless as I learn about a (to me) unknown character in history, and hoping to finish this short novel in the next days.

The Art of Writing Fiction by John Gardner is one of those books I’ve seen for years on writers’ blogs as recommended reading.  I’m grateful to have gotten into it, though I’m finding that much of what he covers I’ve read in some of Sol Stein’s material.  It reads like a creative writing course, at least what I imagine one would be like since I’m not formally educated in writing.  I most appreciate his stuff about the fictional dream.

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis hid on my shelf for a few years.  His various books are on three bookcases at home, and I’ve read him in pieces over the years.  He’s a great writer, and this book is one of his central writings in my view.  He’s delightful to read as he captures my faith in fresh, intelligent ways.  One of my theology profs used to say how Lewis was not a theologian.  I disagree.  I think he’s a good, capable thinker about God, which makes him a theologian in my world–even if he’s not a professional theologian if you will.

Next in line is…

Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg

Sex and the iWorld by Dale Kuehne

This Bitter Earth by Bernice McFadden

The Me I Want to Be by John Ortberg

The Private War of Mrs. Packard by Barbara Sapinsley

What about you?  What are you reading?  What will you be reading?

2 thoughts on “What are you reading?

  1. As someone returning to church after many years aways, I am looking at every aspect of Christianity through fresh eyes. I’ve been drawn to books that will help me do this. Currently reading:

    Jesus: A Biography from a Believer, by Paul Johnson – this is a loving account of Jesus’ life that is helping me answer the question ‘Who was this man?’

    Out of the Salt Shaker & into the World: Evangelism as a Way of Life, by Rebecca Manley Pippert – this was recommended in the NC3 evangelism class. My Southern Baptist notions of what it means to be a good evangelist are being gently shattered. What a relief.

    The Blue Parakeet, by Scott McKnight – Our church states that the Bible is the word of God ‘without error’. This troubled me. Did I really believe everything in the Bible was literally true? David Swanson suggested this book, about how to read the Bible, and it has helped me answer this question.

    NIV, I Corinthians – Paul’s letter to an urban church struggling with the influences of a city as troubled by wickedness as our own cities today seems particularly relevant to me right now.

    Arriving soon:

    Simply Christian: Why Christianity Makes Sense, by N. T. Wright – I am continuing to develop my reasoning skills and ability to articulate the gospel, and I hope to learn more from this book.

    • Byron, let me know what you think of McKnight’s book. It’s on one of my shelves and I need to get to it. I think you’ll enjoy Wright’s Simply Christian.

Leave a Reply

