Days Like Mother’s Day

I completely disagree with holidays like Mother’s Day.  I sit closer to the conviction that Mother’s Day is everyday. 

Of course that’s not sustainable if Mother’s Day is about cards and dinners or gifts.  But if the day is about acknowledging love, making gratitude known, or spending time reflecting on the important people in one’s life, then a person can get that done daily.  At least in small doses. 

A few years ago my mother, with our family alongside her, met a crisis in a cancer diagnosis.  One of things I told my wife after that is that I’d never miss another one my mom’s birthdays or let Mother’s Day pass without doing something.  It’s been five years and my track record is good.  Actually this year my sister picked up the organizing ball so I’m sharing that.  

To me the holiday is about celebrating people you love, marking people with your love.  It is about thanking people–like parents or relatives or loved ones–who are worth compliment or praise.

One of the other things I told my wife years back was that I’d never end a conversation with my mother, that I’d let her end it.  It’s small but to me, it’s a way to stretch Mother’s Day out.  It’s a chance to give my mom, even though she may not notice how long our chats have become, another day where I say I love you.  I make random visits or take her to breakfast, even though she would remind me that I don’t do any of these things enough.

How do you celebrate days like Mother’s Day?  How do you mark the important people in your life with lavish gratitude?

3 thoughts on “Days Like Mother’s Day

  1. My mother passed in 2004. This Mothers’ Day has been especially poignant, because I now know I will see her again someday. Her dying wish was that I would return to church. The depth of my involvement and growth in the past year as a Christian and at New Community is in some way her doing – in a present, real sense. Everything positive that I do in my new life, in my new walk, I do, in some small way, for her.

    • Byron, it’s amazing how different the holiday is once you’ve claimed faith. Thanks for sharing the observation that everything positive is, in part, related to her influence on you. It’s an honor to her. Appreciate reading a bit about her role.

  2. Family, mothers, fathers, sisters and brothers are the wonderful and most valuable relationships given to us. Sometimes parents and siblings may not have been ideal in their treatments to us, but it is our individual responsibility to value them and do our utmost to demonstrate our love and peace to them and for them. A card, a note, for me a good devotional book, says so much about caring. I think before it became commerical, Mother’s Day was just about caring. And I appreciate those who take the time, not always on holidays, to care.

Leave a Reply

