A Series For Colored Girls, pt. 1 of 3

I’m changing gears a bit and posting three entries related to Tyler Perry’s adaptation of For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow is Not Enough.  Originally developed as a series of poems inside a stage play by Ntozake Shange, Perry’s film has been the subject of many cultural critics, film reviewers, and essayists.  I’ll add my series to that chorus.

Today I’m listing a few links for you.  In the next post, you will be treated to a review by my beloved wife, Dawn.  The third post will be my own reflection.

Now, the links.

Come back tomorrow for Dawn’s insightful review.  Post any comments you have about the movie anytime over the next three posts, especially if you’ve seen it or if you have really good reasons not to.  Otherwise, I suggest you see the movie.  And did I say come back and read my wife’s guest post?

Leave a Reply

